Another Turn of the Page: June Books

“If you drop a book into the toilet, you can fish it out, dry it off and read that book.
But if you drop your Kindle in the toilet, you’re pretty well done.”
Stephen King

bookcase3When I was looking for a quote to start out this edition of the Whadda Ya Readin’? book group, this one by Stephen King just grabbed me. Not because it is true, not because it is sort of a denouncement of ebooks but because I “read” books in all sorts of forms and think they are all valid. I don’t worry about dropping them. I was a librarian for 30 years and for most of that time I read the paper type of book. Then along came the audiobook and I realized I didn’t have to restrict my reading to one title at a time but I could listen to one whiIe I drove back and forth to work and read a second over lunch, before bed or whenever I had the time. (note: contrary to popular perception, Librarians have very little, if any, time to read at work).

Now that I am retired I do it all. I have paper books (from the library or purchased from a book dealer), audiobooks (from the library’s CD collection or through their download service, or purchased from Audible) and ebooks, the Kindle type that can be dropped in the toilet…hmmm, how do you do that? I usually have at least two to three books going at the same time because there are, ‘so many books, so little time.’

Since I am a former librarian I get some surprised looks from people when I tell them I do not get all my books from the library. I will always support the library and I truly love a paper book but it is the reading that is the important part and I will use any format or any source to feed my addiction. Sometimes I just can’t wait for my turn on the waiting list.

Here are the June books from those in my group who are similarly addicted.

June1. Zoo by James Patterson and Michael Ledwidge (2012) 395 pages. Attacks by animals on humans begin escalating all over the world, and they seemed planned.

2. Bad Monkey by Carl Hiaasen (2012) 317 pages. A severed arm, a voodoo lady, a detective on the roach patrol and a very bad monkey, just another day in the life of a book by Carl Hiaasen.

3. An Echo Through the Snow by Andrea Thalasinos (2012) 370 pages. The story of two time periods: the native Chukchi people of Siberia in 1929 intertwined with a modern story of a young girl named Rosalie in the 1990s. The center of both stories are  Siberian huskies and dogsled racing.

4. The Scapegoat by Daphne DuMaurier (1957) 384 pages. John, an English history professor on his way home from holiday in France, meets a man in a restaurant. The man, Jean de Gue, is his double but of a very different character. After too many drinks, and possibly drugs, the main character wakes up the next day with the Frenchman’s luggage and clothes. His doppelgänger has vanished, and John is being picked up by Jean’s chauffeur. Fearing he may be accused of a crime or thought mad, he takes on this new identity.

5. The Innocent by David Baldacci (2012) 422 pages. First in a series featuring Will Robie, a U.S. government sanctioned hitman. Typical Baldacci thriller. Good summer read.

6. H is for Hawk by Helen Macdonald (2014) 320 pages. When Helen Macdonald’s father dies, she finds herself inconsolable in her grief. In an effort to heal and regain a connection with her father she sets out to find and train a hawk. Not just any hawk, a Goshawk. The descriptions of the Mabel, the hawk, bring this book to life.

7. Chasing Gold: The Incredible Story of How the Nazis Stole Europe’s Bullion by George M. Tabor (2014) 500 pages. Art wasn’t the only thing the Nazis were stock-piling during WW II. A must read for anyone who enjoyed The Monuments Men.

8. The Golden Orange by Joseph Wambaugh (1990) 412 pages. This is not one of Wambaugh’s police procedurals but rather a  mystery thriller set in Newport Beach, California. Some of the dialogue may suffer from age but our reviewer enjoyed trying an author who regularly used to be a the top of the best seller list.

9. Simple Gifts: Lessons in Living from a Shaker Village by June Sprigg (1998) 240 pages. The story of one of America’s last Shaker communities–Canterbury Shaker Village, in Canterbury, New Hampshire.

Leave a Reply

