Between Holidays

Between Christmas and the New Year I love to work on jigsaw puzzles. I bought one this year and put it under the tree for me (no one else quite has my passion), but I was surprised by my sweetie with two more puzzles. I’m set for the winter or at least until mid-January. You see, I get a bit fanatical when it comes to jigsaw puzzles. Once one is on the table, ready to go, I can’t keep my hands off of it. I visit it many times during the day and in the evening while watching television I continue to put pieces together.

The first one I tackled this year was a picture of candy wrappers. I started Sunday during the Green Bay Packer division championship game. This was a good choice as the game was exciting but turning over 1000 pieces was boring. Turning the pieces is the worst part of doing a puzzle.

The Turning of the Pieces

The Turning of the Pieces

And of course they didn’t all fit on the table so box lids and cookie trays had to be added.

End of Day One

End of Day One

By the end of Day One, I had all the damn pieces turned over, the border done and a few of the major color blocks in.

Day Two had me visiting the table often. So by the time my back gave out and my eyelids wouldn’t stay up I had made some significant progress, in spite of a MAJOR puzzle faux-pas. If you have worked a jigsaw puzzle you know that one of the keys to the solution is the cover art on the box. Unless you have a specialized puzzle that warns you ahead of time that this will be 3D when you are done, or not a rectangle or whatever, you take it on faith that the cover picture represents the completed puzzle. With this one I kept finding colors and words that didn’t match up with the box. Okay, a bigger challenge than I originally thought. Onward!

End of Day Two: more major blocks of color take shape.

End of Day Two: more major blocks of color take shape.

 

Plus a few ready to be added on Day Three

Plus a few ready to be added on Day Three

Day Three. Major push day. I am totally hooked. The cover trick is making me a bit crazy but it’s not enough to dampen my spirit. Instead I am ready to conquer this sucker. Mid-day I pull up a chair, plug-in an audio book and attack. By the end of Day Three I am seeing major light at the end of the tunnel, except for that squirrelly spot in the upper right and a few spots in the middle.

Day Three. Woo-hoo!

Day Three. Woo-hoo!

Day Four was trips to the store for on various errands, some straightening up around the house, etc. but in between the necessities of life I would wander over to the puzzle and put in a piece here, a piece there. By evening I had maybe 35 pieces left and those went fast.

Day Four. Done!

Day Four. Done!

So tonight is New Year’s Eve. The puzzle will go back in the box and I will eat, drink, make merry…watch a movie, bang some pots at midnight but no puzzling…well, maybe tomorrow.

For those of you who would like to compare the box to the finished piece, here is a scan of the cover. 10 candies from the box weren’t in the puzzle, 11 different candies were in the puzzle and 3 were in completely different locations.

Cover of box

Cover of box

4 thoughts on “Between Holidays

  1. I also like doing jigsaw puzzles–I often do them at Christmas because I am in the dollar store shopping for stocking stuffers and absentmindedly put them in my basket.
    Yours look good.

Leave a Reply

