Lucky or Unlucky?

This morning when I came down to join the living, the TV was on, as usual, and one of the numerous hosts of the Today Show was interviewing someone about raising kids, growing up, nurturing…something like that. The line I heard that made me stop and listen was, ” I was lucky to grow up with a Mom who cooked everyday.”

That bothered me. I listened a bit and the gist was her Mom was a stay at home Mom, she actually prepared food and didn’t just heat it up and she learned a lot from her. And that’s wonderful. But it still hit me wrong. It sounded like if you didn’t have a Mom or were a Mom who cooked everyday you were somehow unlucky or not raised right. I guess I personally was one of the “lucky” ones because my Mom not only worked but as far as I remember cooked everyday. But that was the 50’s and there were no microwaves or a million takeout places and though my Dad “grilled” and occasionally prepared food, he didn’t “cook.”  Frankly for my sister and I, the most exciting special dinner for us was on New Year’s Eve. My Mom usually was working because she was a banquet waitress and that was the night people were out eating and partying. We were home with Dad and got to eat TV dinners that night, which we had picked out earlier in the week. Wow, we thought that was a gourmet meal.

Swanson Turkey Dinner, one of my favorites

Swanson Turkey Dinner, one of my favorites

But in my own home, even though I can cook, I am not THE cook. Sure, I make a mac & cheese favorite, my meat loaf and potato salad are pretty good and if we have dessert it was probably made by me. But Curt’s work schedule was always more flexible than mine and he was usually home first. He wasn’t afraid to cook, liked to cook and wasn’t the kind of guy to wait till his wife came home to “fix dinner.” So he put dinner together most nights. By the time our son was born, Curt was pretty much the established cook in the house. And as Nathan got older, Curt was thrilled that he would eat foods I wouldn’t touch, like fish. The menu expanded and on the night I worked they had Boy’s Fish Night. So was my son lucky or unlucky because his Mom was an occasional cook?

I hope someday when Nathan writes his autobiography he tells the world, ” I was so lucky to have a Dad who cooked everyday.”

The boys anticipating "Fish Night"

The boys anticipating “Fish Night”

 

4 thoughts on “Lucky or Unlucky?

Leave a Reply

