Eating Fried Eggs

Okay some of you are already saying, “Eww, fried eggs.” Well just get past that and read on.

friedegg2

Over easy with sausages and a bran muffin

Growing up I wasn’t a big fan of eggs. When I finally convinced myself to eat an egg it was scrambled. Yellow, fluffy and I didn’t have to make any decisions to eat it because every bite was the same. I don’t know when my palate expanded but today I will eat them hard-boiled, fried, scrambled, poached and deviled. I hold the line at pickled. That glass barrel of pickled eggs sitting on the bar in your local saloon always looked creepy. Now that’s “eww!”

Pickled eggs in jar

Anyway, many years ago at some family gathering, we were all sitting around and my mother, always the conversation starter, asked everyone how we ate a fried egg. This might seem like a conversation killer but much to our surprise it was pretty lively and everyone had an opinion (from that you can immediately tell how exciting it gets around here).  To refresh my memory I asked my sister about this “event” and she said “Huh? What? Where?” so maybe it’s not memorable to everyone.

Before I give you everyone’s answers some clarification on terms. When checking the internet descriptions vary but for the most part here are my definitions for fried egg cooking terms:

Sunny side up – cooked on one side, white firm, yolk yellow, visible and runny
Over Easy – turned, cooked on both sides, white firm, yolk runny
Over Medium – turned, cooked on both sides, white firm, yolk cooked on edges but soft in center
Over Hard – turned, cooked on both sides, white and yolk firm

Here’s how we eat them.
Me: Over easy, then I cut off some white and break the yolk a bit so I can get some on the white and eat it together. Just keep doing that till its gone.j eggMy Dad: Over easy. He would eat all of the white first leaving the yolk intact. Then he would break the yolk with his toast and mop up the yolk on the toast finally just eating with his fork whatever remained.

My Mom: Over easy to medium. She eats most of the white first but leaves a ring of white around the yolk. Then chops up the remaining yolk and white together before eating it.

My Sister: Over easy. She takes a knife and fork and cuts it all up together and then eats it.

My Brother-in-Law: Over medium. Takes a bite of white, then a bite of yolk.

My Husband: Over easy. He eats all of the white, then cuts the yolk in half. Eats each half then mops up the plate with his toast.

I recall the conversation being very silly and everyone campaigning for their way of eating the egg as if a sash and crown would be awarded to the most reasonable, the most correct. But of course no one was going to relent and agree with another’s egg consumption. So I wonder, how many other ways are there to eat a simple fried egg?

empty plate

11 thoughts on “Eating Fried Eggs

  1. Fun post.

    Here at our home, we have our own hens, and each girl’s egg is distinctive. I prefer Raven’s eggs….firm whites and a golden-orangey yolk. Fried is the preferred method, but I guess we go much *lighter* on the frying than what I see pictured here. I prefer to use margarine, NOT butter (don’t like the browning effect),and a moderate temp setting on the flame/burner. Then, when the fat is sufficiently hot, I set the egg gently in to begin cooking. After about 30-40 seconds, I gently and quickly flip the egg, and cut the heat, letting the residual heat finish cooking the white, but leaving the yolk to remain liquid gold. This is referred to here as
    “DTP”: Done to perfection.

    To eat, I gently break the yolk and distribute it over the white. I lightly salt it, and often add a dash of Montreal Steak seasoning. Then, a forkful is loaded onto a ripe tomato piece, and promptly eaten. Rye toast stands ready to support any falling pieces and/or mop up residual yolk. Haute cuisine, imo.

  2. Ever since I was a little kid it has always been over easy. Despite the fact that the yolk cannot be broken, I use the fork to smash the egg into little bits so the yolk coats all of the white pieces, then spread it on a piece of toast to eat as an open-faced sandwich.

  3. I like mine with a runny yolk so I can drag my toast through, although I really love them broken on fried potatoes any kind! I like pickled eggs occasionally too.

  4. This last shot would be good for my dogs who always get the egg plates in my house; although our current cats also try to get them before the dog comes too. Alfie – the fuzzy personality kid got the yuckie broken ones when we lived on the farm if they were too dirty to use for us – that cat can hear an egg-shells break miles away!

  5. I like mine sunnyside up (or up and runny is another description I’ve heard in diners — and give). To eat, I cut it all up so everything mixes, then use half a piece of toast to make sure everything gets on the fork. When the bread starts getting too soggy, take a bite and continue. Anything left on the plate is wiped up with the rest of the toast. I know, TMI, but I do love eggs — even the pickled ones you find disgusting sitting in a jar on the bar, especially with a beer.

Leave a Reply

