When Mother Nature gives you a Blizzard, Make Cookies

snowplow

Been watching the weather lately? We are part of the lucky people in the American Midwest who are experiencing a blizzard. I don’t know if it’s an official blizzard where I’m sitting but it has snowed all day and now the wind has whipped up and at 32 degrees there is a mixture of rain and sleet and wet snow slapping at my windows. Eight inches of snow on the ground and maybe three more expected.

Well, I retired two years ago and you know what the best part of retirement is?  I don’t have to go anywhere, and we need more Christmas cookies. Today I’m making Kolackys or Kolachkes,which is a Czech or Slovac soft pastry that holds a dollop of fruit. A Facebook friend, Rose, mentioned she was making these the other day and I hadn’t thought about them in years so I fired up my trusty laptop and looked for a recipe. I thought they were like thumbprint cookies but the recipes I kept finding were little folded up squares so that’s what I made. Here goes.

Cream Cheese Kolacky

3 ounces cream cheese
1/2 C. butter, softened
1 C. flour
Any flavor fruit jam
Confectioners’ sugar

Mix cream cheese and butter till smooth. Add flour slowly until well blended. (A spoon took forever, I finally used my hands for this step).  Shape into a ball and chill overnight or for several hours (I did one hour).
dough

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Roll dough out to 1/8 inch thick on a floured board.  Cut into 2 and 1/2 inch squares and place approx. 1/2 tsp. of jam in the middle. Overlap opposite corners and pinch together. Place on ungreased baking sheet. (Better yet, put parchment paper on sheet, I’ll show you why below).

plain squares, squares w/ jam, squares pinched

Bake 10-12 minutes ( I found 20 minutes was better) in a preheated oven. Cool.

cookies3

This is why, in retrospect, I should have used parchment paper. Those teaspoons of jam oozed out and are now all stuck to the pan. The cookies came free just fine but I had a second batch of these to bake and I had to use another pan. Also I had prolonged cleanup later. sigh. Another suggestion, use less jam.

Once these are cooled, put a Tbls. of confectioners’ sugar in a small sieve and shake some on to each cookie.

kolachke

You may have noticed I baked these for a lot longer than the recipe called for. Well, after 12 minutes they were just too soft, tasted doughy. After another 8 minutes they achieved a puffy pie crust texture which was much better. I’ll leave it to you on how long to bake. I like them but just as a backup I also did a batch of chocolate chip/walnut cookies.

chocchip

When in doubt, chocolate chip.

2 thoughts on “When Mother Nature gives you a Blizzard, Make Cookies

Leave a Reply

