Mother’s Day without a Clue

Nothing was planned but it turned out fine.

I’ve had a cold since Tuesday so when my husband suggested reservations for brunch on Mother’s Day I said, “I don’t think so.” I wasn’t even planning on going to church even though it would have made my Mom happy. I just didn’t think going into a coughing jag in the middle of the sermon would have been good. And no one wants to give the “Peace of the Lord” (we shake hands), to someone who has been coughing and blowing their nose.

Yesterday I was feeling better (still coughing), so we invited my mother to come over here for noon brunch (I promised to do the elbow cough and not touch anything or anybody). For the rest of the day, we would punt.

Sunday morning and I was feeling even better so I told my husband I’d like to go birding before we got ready for brunch. It’s migration and the warblers have hit town so it is prime time. You snooze, you lose. Curt and I quickly got dressed and I stuck my head into my son’s room and invited him along. I got a bleary eyed look and a grunt which I took as a no. However as we started to pull out of the driveway, he waved at us from a window and then came running out the door, dressed, but with his shoes in one hand and his binoculars in the other.

Common yellowthroat -photo:Thayer Birding

The birds were out, unlike Friday when the woods were silent. Warblers seen: black & white, common yellow throat, yellow-rumped, palm and magnolia. Also Baltimore orioles, catbird, and ruby crowned kinglets…cardinals, wood ducks, and woodpeckers of the downy, hairy, red belly and pileated varieties.  All of this and a nice long walk with my two favorite guys.

Before we headed home, Curt needed to make a last-minute stop for bacon, strawberries  and cream. As we pulled up at home it was obvious my mother had beat us. She was waving at us from the inside of our house. Oops! It was already 11:45. We are not known for great timing. But my husband is known for great cooking. By 12:30 we sat down to coffee, bacon, roasted potato wedges, halved strawberries and individual crustless quiches. Thanks to Curt, and Mark Bittman, brunch was marvelous.

Crustless ‘Quiche”   (Mark Bittman, NYT 5/7/08)

1 cup cream, half and half, milk or a combination, gently heated just till warm

3 eggs, room temperature

3/4 C. grated Emmenthal, Gruyère, Cantal or a combination

1/4 C. grated Parmesan

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp cayenne, or to taste

Butter as needed

1. Heat oven to 325 degrees and set rack in middle.  Combine all ingredients except butter and beat until well blended.

2. Pour into 4-6 buttered ramekins and bake for 20-30 minutes, or until almost firm; it should jiggle just a little in the middle. Cool on a rack, then serve warm.

Note: they will come out of the oven all poofy like little souffles and then deflate so gather your guests around if you want them to see them puffed up.

Right out of the oven

-While the guys cleaned up, my Mom and I Skyped my sister.

-Then Mom went home with a hanging basket of geraniums.

-I did laundry and hung it out, it was sunny and 67 degrees. Who-hoo!

-A little garden clean-up, a little reading, completed plans for the August Toronto trip- and then curry for dinner, once again food courtesy of my husband.

-I think my son even tried to make me happy by getting a few job applications out into the ether.

We punted for Mother’s Day and we scored.

8 thoughts on “Mother’s Day without a Clue

  1. Sounds like you had a lovely Mother’s Day, Jeanne…hope your cough is still going away!

    What are you going to do in Toronto? I like to visit once in a while but haven’t been there in years…

    Wendy

    • Two reunions in Western NY, a week apart. I told my husband I wanted to do something other than see family so we are swinging up to Toronto for the week in between for art museums, botanical gardens, good food and whatever we can find. Suggestions?

      • Here’s a link to the Toronto city website: http://www.toronto.ca/index.htm

        The public transit system is the easiest way to travel…the subway is very clean. There are also buses and streetcars.

        Harbourfront is a neat place. Chinatown is fun too (lots of interesting stores on Queen St. W.). We went to Casa Loma on a school trip when I was a kid (http://www.casaloma.org/). The Royal Ontario Museum is the biggest museum. There’s a neat planetarium at the Ontario Science Centre.

        Wendy

  2. These are so pretty in their little ramekins! I really like this idea…I love quiche but don’t always feel like putting in the effort to make crust.

Leave a Reply

