We Lost the Game but there’s Pie

 

Honey Crisp Apples

 

Weekends and apple pie are heavenly. This is the perfect time of year for both. The air is crisp, the leaves are turning glorious colors and I love watching football on Sunday. However I can’t just sit and watch TV as I mentioned two posts ago. Football, even though I love it, makes me nervous when I watch it unless my team is so far ahead there is no chance that even stupid plays will not do them in. The close calls, the field goal attempts in the final seconds, the third and ones, just make me want to close my eyes till it’s over.

So I look for other things to occupy my time while I keep an ear and an occasional eye on the screen. This time of year, apples are the perfect diversion. Last week it was wheat bran apple muffins, today it was apple pie with crumble topping. I admit I found the recipe online and modified it. I have a double crust apple pie recipe that I have made for years but I just wasn’t in the mood for all that crust today so I looked for an alternative.  This recipe proved to be a winner.

Apple Pie w/ Crumble Topping

pastry for 1 crust pie (9 inch)

1/2 c. light raisins (optional)

6-8 tart apples, peeled, cored, sliced (I used 4 large Honey Crisps)

1/2 tsp. grated lemon rind

1 tsp. lemon juice

3/4 c. sugar

2 Tbsp. flour

1/2 tsp. grd nutmeg

dash of salt

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line 9 inch pie plate with pastry. Toss apples with lemon peel and juice, and raisins. Combine sugar, flour, nutmeg and salt; mix with apples. Turn into pastry. Mix crumble topping and sprinkle on apples.Bake 50-60 minutes or until done. Cover edges after 15 minutes to prevent over browning.

Topping:

1/8 c. sugar

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/8 tsp. mace

1/2 c. flour

1/4 c. butter

 

Apple Pie

 

PS: I’m a Packer fan.

Leave a Reply

