Mother’s Day Birding

Virginia rail

Some Moms like breakfast in bed or going out for a nice dinner. Gifts are good too but I haven’t gotten a homemade card from my son since he turned 12. So what did I want to do on MD?…go birding of course. It’s a good thing Curt loves to bird as well. The other thing I wanted to do was sleep in so we did not leave till 8:30 am.

We heard that there was some great sightings at the Horicon Marsh near Waupun so that was the destination. And we saw great birds. Glossy ibis, marsh wren, dunlin, sora, Virginia rail, bobolink and Wilson’s phalarope, northern harrier and peregrine falcon. Some of the birds were so close to the marsh edge  we didn’t even need our binoculars. I took two pictures, even though I do not have a camera with a close-up lens I think they turned out pretty good. Take a look and then get out there with your binocs and find some birds!

Great blue heron

Leave a Reply

