Last Day

Yesterday was my last day to be employed by the Brown County Library. When I left at noon (it was Good Friday), it was 75 degrees out, the sun was shining and I went to a local candy store and bought milk chocolate bunnies , eggs and even a chocolate carrot. Went home, had some lunch and then Curt, Nathan and I headed over to the wildlife sanctuary to see what birds may have hit town.  We got more than we bargained for. Initially we wanted to get a fox sparrow since we had heard they were in town and Curt had spotted one earlier in the week. We did see the fox sparrow, along with a yellow rumped warbler ( two weeks earlier than I saw one last year), yellow-bellied sapsuckers dueling with each other for territory, an eastern phoebe, tree swallows and a blue winged teal.

Nathan and I finished out the day going to the theater to see the remake of “Clash of the Titans”. It was originally a B movie and they remade it into a C+. But we had fun anyway. So that’s how I spent my first 1/2 day of retirement.

Leave a Reply

